Rasmussen Retires From NARD Board

After over two decades of service, a North Loup man has decided to end his run as the Lower Loup Natural Resources District’s representative to the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD).  Dean Rasmussen finished a 24-year stint as the LLNRD’s representative to the NARD Board of Directors at the end of 2016. 

Rasmussen asked to not be re-appointed and will be replaced by Jim Eschliman of Ericson.  Virgil Gellermann of Columbus will continue to serve as the alternate to the NARD Board.  The NARD is the trade association for Nebraska’s 23 Natural Resources Districts.

Dean Rasmussen

Rasmussen was honored with a special presentation during a luncheon at the 2017 NARD Legislative Conference in Lincoln.  He was presented with a bronze eagle statue by NARD Board President Jim Bendfeldt of Kearney.  

Rasmussen Award

Dean Edson, the Association’s Executive Director said, "Dean's commitment to public service is unmatched. Not only has he served the citizens of the Lower Loup NRD, he has helped shape policy and programs to protect natural resources for the entire State of Nebraska through his 24 years of public service on the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts Board.” 

Lower Loup NRD General Manager Leon “Butch” Koehlmoos said that “Dean has provided the residents of the Lower Loup NRD with unrivalled dedication to the cause of natural resources conservation and his work through the NARD Board took that to a statewide level.  He has served on the LLNRD Board since the NRD system began in 1972 and remains a key advocate for the Lower Loup NRD and NRDS across Nebraska.”    

Rasmussen will continue to serve as a representative for the NRD’s Subdistrict 4, which covers southern Valley, western Greeley, northeast Sherman and northwest Howard Counties.