Rasmussen Inducted Into NARD Hall Of Fame

Former Lower Loup NRD Board member and North Loup resident Dean Rasmussen has been inducted into the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts Hall of Fame. Rasmussen, now of Hastings, was a member of the Lower Loup Natural Resources District Board of Directors for 45 years and served as representative to the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD) for 24 years.  Rasmussen retired as representative for the NRD's Subdistrict 4, which covers southern Valley, western Greeley, northeast Sherman and northwest Howard Counties, earlier this year.  Rasmussen was inducted into the hall during at banquet at the NARD Annual Conference September 25 and 26 in Kearney. The NARD is the trade association for Nebraska's 23 Natural Resources Districts.

Rasmussen inducted into the NARD Hall of Fame.

Dean Edson, the Association's Executive Director said, "Dean's commitment to public service is unmatched and he has helped shape policy and programs to protect natural resources for the entire State of Nebraska." Lower Loup NRD General Manager Leon "Butch" Koehlmoos said that "Dean has provided outstanding service in natural resources conservation for the residents of the Lower Loup NRD. He served on the LLNRD Board since the system began in 1972 and remained a key advocate for the Lower Loup NRD and NRDs across Nebraska."

Rasmussen and several other Lower Loup Directors and employees were also recognized for their years of service in a conference luncheon on September 26th.

  • Dean Rasmussen, Director, 45 years
  • Jim Nelson, Director, 45 years
  • Rita Goldfish, employee, 45 years
  • Beverly Smedra, employee, 40 years
  • Marie Schmiets, employee, 30 years
  • Jim Adams, Director and employee, 30 years
  • Hank Thoene, Director and employee, 30 years
  • Alan Petersen, Director, 20 years